My First Post – Thanksgiving!

I absolutely LOVE Thanksgiving! It has always been one of my favourite times of the year for many reasons so I thought it would be the perfect subject for my first ever blog post!! This post may not be the best thing you’ve ever read but bear with me and hopefully I’ll keep getting better and better with every post I write.

Three of the things I love most about fall are:

1. Fall Weather. It is absolutely perfect. As Goldilocks might say, it is not too cold, not too hot, but just right. Plus it’s perfect weather for any kind of scarf (my favourite fashion accessory).

2. Fall Colours. Beautiful.

3. Fall Flavours. Somehow pumpkin and squash seem to make everything better. So far this year I’ve tried pumpkin muffins, smoothies, hummus, and soup and there are so many more things I’m looking forward to making with this amazing veggie!

I’m pretty sure this list could go on and on forever but the last and most important part of this list is family. September is such a crazy month, getting back into the routine of school/work, that it is so nice to have a long weekend together to re-group and just relax in the presence of the people you love.

This year, school has tried to get in the way of this fantastic holiday! We have 6 midterms in the 4 days immediately following Thanksgiving weekend. Why? I have absolutely no idea. But as I have learned in my first year at CCNM, you can’t let school take over your life. If I’m going to survive three more years, it is SO important to remember the things I love in life and to make sure I always make time for them. This is why I have decided not to let CCNM ruin Thanksgiving. I will study really well up until Saturday afternoon and then after that I want to relax (or try to be as relaxed as possible when you have 6 exams looming in the near future) and enjoy time with my family.

Thanksgiving dinner can be challenging on a gluten free diet because the turkey is often filled with stuffing and, therefore, cooked with huge amounts of gluten simmering away on the inside and leaching it’s way through the whole turkey. This is a huge bummer if the person cooking Thanksgiving dinner for you doesn’t realize this and you can’t eat the turkey!! Luckily my family has been dealing with this for many years and we have figured out the perfect solution: gluten free wild rice stuffing (beyond amazing!) and stove top gluten-full stuffing for those who can eat it. At first, this sounded disappointing to me because gluten-full stuffing is so incredible BUT after one taste of this wild rice stuffing I have never looked back. I don’t have a recipe for this because it’s my mom’s secret recipe (and by secret I mean she doesn’t use a recipe so she wasn’t able to share it with me) but I found one online that looks very similar and very delicious. Take a look: http://www.healthfulpursuit.com/2011/10/gluten-free-wild-rice-stuffing/

The recipe I do want to share with you is my new favourite Thanksgiving themed recipe – Pumpkin hummus!

I know this sounds weird and everyone I have told about this recipe gives me this really weird and confused look but it’s actually really delicious! I haven’t been able to eat hummus for a long time because I’ve been testing out the low FODMAP diet, which basically means I have cut out many carbohydrates/sugars that can sit in my bowels and ferment, causing gas (Maybe I’ll come back to discussing this in a later post). It has worked really well so far! But it means I haven’t been able to eat chick peas or garlic, which are both kind of important components of hummus and many other dips. Anyways, the short story is that I haven’t had hummus in at about 4 months! And this was not easy, as it used to be one of my favourite snacks. So I got REALLY excited when I saw this recipe that uses pumpkin and zucchini to make the hummus! Also, to make it more FODMAP friendly, I used garlic infused olive oil instead of garlic and olive oil separately. Garlic-infused olive oil is low FODMAP, even though garlic itself is high FODMAP. FODMAPs are water-soluble, not fat-soluble, and therefore they won’t be transferred from the garlic to the oil but the flavour definitely is!

So, without further ado, PUMPKIN HUMMUS:

Ingredients:

–       ¾ cup pumpkin puree (if you’re using canned pumpkin, make sure it is 100% pumpkin, not pumpkin pie mix)

–       1 cup peeled and chopped zucchini

–       ¼ cup tahini

–       1 tsp garlic powder

–       2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (or omit garlic powder and use 2 or 3 tbsp garlic-infused olive oil)

–       Juice of 1 lemon

–       1 tsp ground cumin

–       ½ tsp salt

–       ½ tsp smoked paprika

Directions:

  1. The original recipe suggests using a food processor but I don’t have one so I used a blender and it worked well! However, I ended up adding a bit of extra olive oil because my blender needed the extra liquid.
  2. Just blend all the ingredients together and enjoy! I ate mine with some gluten free rice crackers but I’m sure it would be good with any other cracker or any veggie dipped into it.

Adapted from: http://thepaleomama.com/2013/09/bean-paleo-pumpkin-hummus-guest-post-meatified/

Hope you guys enjoy this recipe as much as I did! And thanks for reading my first blog post 🙂 sorry there aren’t any pictures to go along with the recipe but I haven’t yet figured out how to take pictures that make the food actually look good and I also have no idea how to add pictures to a blog post. I have so much to learn!

4 thoughts on “My First Post – Thanksgiving!

  1. I love fall too! Especially at the cottage. I’ve added your blog to my blog folder so I will be waiting for updates! You’ve also motivated me to log into my account and perhaps start…

  2. Emily! Great post! I love thanksgiving too – and since it’s just two of us this year, all the cooking falls to me (I miss my Mommy …) I think I will give both the hummus and the wild rice stuffing a try! Will let you know how it turns out! Thanks for sharing and HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!! 🙂

    • Thanks! Definitely let me know what you and Lloyd think. I’m sure it’s hard to be away from home for Thanksgiving but maybe also exciting to make your own meal for the first time! Happy Thanksgiving to you guys too 🙂

Leave a Reply

