Updates on Life and Great Gluten Free Sausages!

HAPPY CANADA DAY!!!!! I hope everybody is having lots of fun celebrating our amazing country 🙂

As you may have noticed, I have been on a bit of a blog-writing hiatus for the past couple of months! In April, I was writing my final exams and finishing up my second year at CCNM. In May and June, I have been spending lots of time relaxing, catching up with friends and family, and staying far away from the computer!!

It has been a very exciting couple of months for many reasons! First of all, finishing my second year meant that I’m officially halfway to becoming an ND!! AND in one year from now I will be starting as an intern at the Robert Shad Naturopathic Clinic (RSNC). This is the clinic that is located at CCNM. In our fourth year, we spend an entire year working as an intern under the supervision of practicing NDs. It is a fantastic learning experience for us and it is also great for all of you because it allows you to see some fantastic NDs for a discounted rate! In a year from now I will be starting to see patients and I am SO excited about it!!

Secondly, my close friends had their second baby! And he is a beautiful baby boy! I am so happy for them and I’m also incredibly grateful for their generosity and willingness to let me be part of their birth experience! I was a trained doula who had never actually attended a birth so they were so kind to offer me the opportunity to be there! The more births I am able to attend, the more I will learn about labour and delivery, and the better doula I can become! This meant a lot to me 🙂

Finally, and most excitingly, I am now engaged!!!!! My amazing boyfriend (and now fiancée) surprised me at the cottage with an incredibly romantic and absolutely perfect proposal! I can’t wait to spend my life with him. Also, I can’t wait to start planning the wedding!!! Spoiler Alert: I’m going to have a gluten-free wedding!!! This is one time in my life when I definitely don’t want to have the “special” meal that’s different from what everybody else is eating! I want everyone’s meal to have tons of flavour and still be perfectly gluten free 🙂 so we’ll see how that goes! I will definitely keep you posted.

These last two exciting things happened at my favourite place on earth, my cottage! I had a lot of fun being up there for a couple weeks and having tons of time to try out new recipes! I experimented with making a gluten free, dairy free white sauce for my pasta (which kind of worked but it wasn’t very flavourful so I need to keep working on it), pad thai sauce (again, not as flavourful as I would have liked), and sausages!! The sausages were my most successful recipe of the week!

Sausages are something I generally avoid because so many of them have additives and hidden gluten! For this reason, I have never been a huge fan of sausages but when I have really good homemade ones I love them! And my fiancée is definitely a sausage fan so I thought it was time to try making some! I used a recipe from the Against All Grain cookbook (which is an amazing cookbook and I would definitely recommend it if you’re looking for some good grain-free cooking!! I have made a few of her baked goods and a few of her dinner recipes and all of them have been amazing!). The recipe I used was also very similar to this one with just some differences in spices.

Homemade Gluten Free Sausages (Adapted from Against All Grain and Gutsy By Nature)

 

Sausages

–       1 pound ground pork

–       2 tbsp maple syrup

–       2 tsp ground sage

–       1 tsp salt

–       ½ tsp pepper

–       (Additional spices are totally up to you!! The online recipe uses rosemary, cinnamon, and ginger, while the Against All Grain recipe adds marjoram and red pepper flakes. Any of these spices would be a great addition!)

  1. Combine the spices and maple syrup in a bowl. Add the ground pork.
  2. Using your hands, mix together the spices and the ground pork thoroughly so that they are well incorporated.
  3. Form the meat into small patties.
  4. Pan fry them over medium heat until cooked through. I did them about 3-5 minutes per side (as the recipe states) and also did a few minutes with a lid on the pan to make sure they were cooked through. As with any meat, you can tell they are cooked through when the juices run clear 🙂
  5. Serve!

There are tons and tons of options for serving these sausages! They would be great for breakfast with eggs and home fries but they also make a delicious dinner! I made them with roasted sweet potato and spinach. It was a perfect meal. If you want some added sweetness, the Against All Grain cookbook suggests you can pan fry some apples with cinnamon to serve with them. This would be a fabulous combination as well!

Stay Tuned: I just spent an incredible week with my family in Ireland and I can’t wait to tell you all about it! Ireland has a lot of people with Celiac disease so it was the perfect place for me 🙂

I hope all of you are also having amazing summers so far!!

Emily

2 thoughts on “Updates on Life and Great Gluten Free Sausages!

Leave a Reply

