My Goals for Summer 2015

This winter has been a tough one for me. It felt really long and I found myself lacking motivation in every area of my life. I haven’t even written a blog post since before Christmas!! I think a big reason that winter felt like it was dragging on longer than usual this year was that I have so many exciting things to look forward to this summer!!! I’m finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel 🙂 I’m just over a month away from finishing up my last exam period at CCNM and starting my yearlong internship at the RSNC (more information on this coming soon!). It has been hard to focus on my schoolwork in this final stretch when all I can think about is seeing patients and finally using my knowledge to help real people! I literally cannot wait!

To get over my winter blues, I’m going to get into the spring spirit and make a list of goals that I’m hoping to achieve this summer. I’m hoping this will help me rediscover my motivation and finish off the school year with a bit more SPRING in my step!

I’m going to do my best to make all my goals SMART goals! I’m sure many of you have heard this term before but if you haven’t, SMART is a acronym to help remind yourself to make goals that are realistic and achievable. The acronym stands for Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timeframe. If you want to join me and make some summer goals for yourself, here are the questions you need to ask with every goal you make:

Is this goal SPECIFIC? Do I know exactly what I’m trying to achieve?

Is this goal MEASURABLE? How will I know when I’ve achieved the goal?

Is this goal ATTAINABLE? Will this goal push me out of my comfort zone but still be achievable?

Is this goal REALISTIC? Do I have the time and resources to achieve this goal?

Is there a TIMEFRAME to this goal? By when do I want to have achieved this goal?

For example, let’s take a simple goal like “I want to lose weight” and turn it into a SMART goal. I want to lose 10 pounds (specific and measurable) in the next 3 months (attainable, realistic at 1-2lbs of weight loss/week and within a specific timeframe). This sets you up for much more success than with the simple goal! Try it 🙂

Here are my goals for Summer 2015:

  1. Eat at least 5 servings of veggies every day. I find it really easy to eat enough fruit every day but I struggle more with fitting this many servings of veggies into my diet. I have ordered an organic veggie box that will be delivered to me bi-weekly all summer, which will help me achieve this goal!
  2. Go on a rollercoaster. I’m not overly excited about this goal, as rollercoasters are a fear of mine. However, I’ve been working on managing my anxiety and going on a rollercoaster will be great proof that I can overcome my fears and be okay.
  3. Complete a sprint triathlon in 1 hour and 50 minutes. I have already signed up for one in July so I just need to work on training for it. I have done two other sprint triathlons and I have finished both between 1 hour and 50 minutes and 2 hours. I would like to do this one slightly faster!
  4. Run 15 km. I have never run more than 10km before so this will be a huge achievement for me! It still sounds weird to call myself a runner considering I’ve spent most of my life hating running! But I really love it now and can’t wait to keep achieving new speeds and distances 🙂
  5. Take a course on mindfulness. So far I have developed my practice on my own, with some guidance from my psychologist, but I would really like to take a group course to deepen my understanding of mindfulness.
  6. Workout 4 times/week for at least 30 minutes (running, swimming, biking, or strength training). This will help me achieve goals 3 and 4! I love working out but I’m not always great at prioritizing it in my schedule so I’m hoping this goal will help me out.
  7. See AT LEAST 2 patients per shift at the RSNC. This may start slowly but I would like to achieve this by the end of the summer. Hopefully in the fall I can increase it to 3 patients per shift!
  8. Consistently write 1 blog post per month. No more of these long breaks between posts!
  9. Read!! I have a bit of an obsession with buying books so I need to start reading some of them before my pile of unread books gets too high! Three of the books I would love to get through by the end of the summer are Anatomy of an Epidemic By Robert Whitaker, The Practitioner’s Journey By Dan Clements and Tara Gignac, and The Birth House By Ami McKay.
  10. Find balance during my final exam period so I don’t finish up my year completely burnt out! I’m going to use this list of goals to keep me going – I don’t want to sacrifice healthy eating, physical activity, and taking care of myself just to do well on my exams. I’m putting me first!

What are your goals for the spring and summer? Are you ready to detox your negative winter thoughts and bring in a wave of fresh, new, and positive thoughts??

SAM_0190

Leave a Reply

