Naturopathic Medicine

SAM_2279I’m so excited to announce that I have finally started my full-time internship at the Robert Schad Naturopathic Clinic! Hopefully this page will give you all the information you need to get started and become a patient!

What is the Robert Schad Naturopathic Clinic (RSNC)?

The RSNC is a healthcare clinic attached to the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine (CCNM; my school!) that offers naturopathic care to the community. It is a teaching clinic, which means you will be seeing an intern (like me!), as well as a licensed naturopathic doctor. There are over 100 interns and 20 000 patients at the RSNC. Since the RSNC is a teaching clinic, you get the benefit of seeing a licensed naturopathic doctor while paying only a fraction of the price! An adult appointment costs around $40 for an hour (and there are discounts for students and seniors!).

What should I expect when I visit an intern at the RSNC?

Each appointment will be an hour in duration. This might seem like a long time compared to the 5 minutes you spend with your medical doctor; however, I promise that time flies!! You will be giving us a comprehensive health history and often you’ll be receiving treatments in office. You will spend the entire hour with your intern and the licensed ND will join for 10-15 minutes of every appointment to check in and answer any questions you might have for them. An initial appointment consists of information gathering about your chief concern, your health history, and any other important information the intern needs to develop a treatment plan for you. The second appointment will consist of a physical exam and discussion of your treatment plan and treatment goals. Treatment will either start during the second or third appointment. The intern will always discuss your case with their supervisor to ensure they are giving you the best treatment possible!

What is involved in naturopathic care?

Naturopathic care encompasses so many options for treatment!! This allows us to give you a completely individualized treatment plan that will be reasonable for your lifestyle and your budget. We may choose to use acupuncture, homeopathy, herbal remedies, nutrition/diet changes, counseling, supplements, etc. The best thing about naturopathic care is that we always make sure you are involved in the decision making and play an active role in your healing journey!

What conditions can benefit from naturopathic medicine?

Basically, naturopathic medicine can help you with almost anything! And if you aren’t sure whether it can benefit you, come in and tell us about it and we’ll let you know what we can do to help! Here is a list of some common conditions that can be effectively managed and/or treated by naturopathic medicine.

Digestion: Irritable bowel syndrome, Acid reflux, Chronic constipation, Celiac disease, Inflammatory bowel disease (Crohn’s and Ulcerative colitis)

Mental Health: Anxiety, Depression, ADHD, Austism

Skin: Eczema, Acne, Psoriasis

Chronic Infections (anything that requires boosting your immune system!)

Infertility

Asthma

Allergies (seasonal, food, etc.)

Arthritis

Muscle aches and pains, as well as recovery from injuries

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/Fibromyalgia

Diabetes

Heart Disease

And the list goes on and on!!

What are my specific interests?

I’m so excited to learn as much as possible at the RSNC and treat a wide variety of conditions! I also have some specific interests that I am especially excited to learn more about as I head into my clinical year.

Digestion: I have seen naturopathic medicine work wonders on my digestive health and I know I can help a lot of other people in the same way naturopathic medicine helped me!

Mental Health: As with anything, there are so many more factors that go into mental health than just our brain chemistry and I think the holistic nature of naturopathic medicine is incredibly beneficial when it comes to this.

Pregnancy: I have taken the naturopathic doula course and am excited to help women achieve healthy pregnancies and deliveries, as well as raise a healthy family!!

Pediatrics: I will be part of the pediatric focus shift and can’t wait to learn more about how naturopathic medicine can help children.

What if I’m not sick??

That’s great!!! We are so happy to see people who are currently feeling great but want to make sure they stay that way! We love working with you to make sure you stay healthy and prevent any future illnesses. You are more than welcome to come in for a general check-up or just to see what naturopathic care is like and try out some of our awesome treatments!! The RSNC even has two saunas if you’re looking for a relaxing and enjoyable way to detox after this long, cold winter. There really isn’t any reason for you to NOT come in and check out what we have to offer!

How do I book an appointment?

You can call the RSNC at (416) 498-9763 to book an appointment with any of our amazing interns!

If you’re interested in coming to see me, my shifts are:

Tuesdays 8:45am – 1pm

Thursdays 2:45pm – 7pm

Fridays 10:45am – 3pm (Pediatric Focus Shift)

Saturdays 8:45am – 1pm

You can call the RSNC at (416) 498-9763 and ask to book an appointment with Emily Martin (or Emily Casey, starting September 2015!) or you can email me at e.martin31@gmail.com and I can set one up for you 🙂

If you have any questions at all, please don’t hesitate to contact me and ask!! I’m always happy to help!

I look forward to meeting you!!

Business Card

Leave a Reply

